Nyx Ever and Currant Lip Pencils

IMG_0044Today’s review is on some drugstore makeup – Nyx’s lip liners ($3.50)! Nyx is one of my favorite brands so you’ll be seeing a lot more of it later.

Here’s the product blurb from the website:

Slim, trim, but never prim our lip pencils come in a variety of dashing shades – from auburn to orange and traffic-stopping red. The buttery long-wearing lip liner formula goes on easily and resists bleeding.

The two colors I currently own are Ever and Currant. Currant is described as a “plum.” Ever is described as a “warm mauve brown.”

IMG_0038

They both look pretty true to their descriptions on my arm. When they’re actually on my face they look a touch different due to my natural lip color.

Currant on my face

Currant on my face

Ever on my face

Ever on my face

Currant in action looks significantly less purple and way more beet-ish colored. Ever in action is pretty much the exact same color as my lips, so it looks like I’ve found my perfect MLBB color in it.

As far as the formula goes it’s very comfortable to wear and it lasts a moderately long time, although it’s by no means transfer proof so you’ll need to touch up after eating or drinking. They don’t bleed and they don’t smudge, given you don’t rub your mouth super hard. They’re creamy but they do dry a little bit.

As far as pigmentation goes, your mileage may vary. Ever is perfect; no patchiness, so it looks fantastic by itself.  Currant, on the other hand, is not something I have worn or ever will wear on its own. If it wasn’t evident by the swatches on both my lips and arm, it’s super patchy. However it looks very nice if you slap something on top of it so it still serves its intended purpose.

Will I be buying more of these? Yes, especially with the $3.50 price tag on these buddies. They’re excellent quality for the price and with the massive shade selection you’d be hard-pressed not to find what you’re looking for. You can buy them on the Nyx website here or the Ulta website here.

Leave a Reply

