Burgundies for Fall

IMG_0076Burgundy is easily my favorite color of lipstick besides brown. Lucky for me it’s all the rage during fall and winter, so I’m using the imminent beginning of the fall season as an excuse to pull a bunch of my burgundies out of my makeup bag and swatch them.

IMG_0077

Indirect light

IMG_0079

Direct light

(L-R) Nyx Copenhagen ($6); Mac Viva Glam III ($16); Colourpop Creature ($5); Colourpop Ellarie ($5); Nyx Siren ($6); Colourpop Bichette ($5)

The formulas of these are all a bit different and none of them are dupes of each other so honestly you could get away with having all of these in your drawer. For the record, some of these are described as “plums” but I aggressively reject this notion because I am of the opinion that plums are dark purples and not the red-purple-brown mix that everyone else thinks it is.

  • Nyx Copenhagen is a “matte rich plum.” It looks a bit uneven here because I only did one layer, but it’s easily buildable to full opacity.
  • Mac Viva Glam III is a “muted brownish plum.” It’s not quite as dark or red as the other colors but it’s close enough.
  • Colourpop Creature is a “blackened burgundy.” It’s the darkest of the bunch; the color almost black but it’s light enough for the red to be detectable so your face isn’t totally washed out.
  • Colourpop Ellarie is a “deep cranberry.” It’s a red and purple mix like Siren and Copenhagen, but it’s predominantly red while the other two lean more purple. It’s also a very nice winter color so keep it in the back of your mind for when holiday parties come up.
  • Nyx Siren is described as a “deep violet.” It’s essentially Ellarie’s more purple cousin.
  • Colourpop Bichette is a “deep red wine.” It almost looks like a true red on me, but I’m including it because it pulls darker on paler people.

So there we have it. I hope this will lead you to the perfect fall red, because fall just isn’t the same without one. Or two. Or three. Or any other number as long as it’s not zero.

2 thoughts on “Burgundies for Fall

  1. behappyxxx says:

    Oh my goooosh, I love all these shades! If I wore lipstick more often, I’d have tons and tons of lipsticks lol. My favorites are the Mac Viva Glam III, and Nyx Siren! <3<3

    Like

    • kayleconut says:

      Lipstick is like… the only thing I wear besides brows most of the time. I have a very backward and weird makeup routine. I love Siren, I just never get around to using it even though it really is a pretty color!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

