Maroon For Days

IMG_0272

Pictured: me, prime supermodel material. American Apparel hire me now

I did a mostly reddish look today. I figured I’d give the lipstick-as-eyeliner thing a go using Colourpop’s Tulle and this is the oddly nice result.

This experiment taught me two things: Liquid lipstick responds surprisingly well to an eyeliner brush, and maroon eyeliner is surprisingly wearable. More pictures and a list of products under the cut.

The hype about the Colourpop Ultra Mattes is so, so justified. My “eyeliner” didn’t smudge all day and neither did my lipstick. This stuff is magical and I regret not buying more. Also, Drift by the same brand is now my favorite eyeshadow. It’s probably going to be smashed on my face almost daily from this point on. Curse me for not discovering red eyeshadow sooner!

I also covered my face in the Smashbox foundation cream and powder that my mom got me for my birthday and it’s great. It’s medium coverage so I don’t look cakey, and another nice byproduct is that it doesn’t matter that the stuff doesn’t match my skin perfectly since I can just blend it into oblivion. Magical. If you’re curious but don’t have the budget to buy Smashbox stuff, I’d consider dropping the $30 on their foundation kit (which is what my mom bought). It comes with a sample of their foundation primer, BB cream, and Halo powder (which is basically powder foundation crossed with setting powder). Since one full size tube of BB Cream is $20, it’s a darn good deal, especially since 1. the “sample” powder thing is huge for a sample and 2. you really only need a small amount of any of the products to cover your face.

Anyways, I said there would be pictures.

IMG_0277 IMG_0278

IMG_0265

You probably want to wipe the awkward smirk off my face right now. I apologize

The stuff:

Face

  • Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream (Light/Medium)
  • Smashbox Halo Perfecting Powder (Light/Medium)
  • Nyx Powder Blush (Terracotta)
  • Colourpop Highlighter (Wisp)

Eyes

  • Colourpop Drift (all over lid)
  • Colourpop Central Perk (small amount blended into outer corners)
  • Colourpop Tulle (eyeliner)
  • Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Powder Duo (Ebony)
  • Nyx Tinted Brow Mascara (Black)

Lips

  • Mac Lip Liner (Half Red)
  • Colourpop Ultra Matte (Tulle)
Leave a Reply

