Mac Viva Glam III

Hey all, today I’m reviewing my Mac Viva Glam III ($17). I got this as a gift from my aunt during an impromptu visit to the Mac store at the mall in Panama. The condensed story is, we went to the store to just look around when she looked at me and said “pick something.” An employee swatched pretty much the entire lipstick collection on my hand and I was about to give up and pick a generic dark red when she tried this one on my hand. EVERYTHING CHANGED. WHERE HAD THIS BEEN ALL MY LIFE? I NEEDED IT. So I walked away from the store with this. And it is glorious.

Before I really get into this review I just want to say that I’ve never been a fan of the Mac lipstick packaging. The bullet with the lid on looks like a tampon. I can’t. I just can’t.

IMG_2383

YOU CAN’T TELL ME THIS DOESN’T LOOK LIKE A TAMPON.

Tampon resemblance aside, I do like the red accents on the packaging (in true Viva Glam fashion). Classy.

Anyways, Viva Glam III is a “muted brownish plum” according to the Mac website. Mac, this is brown red. Get it together. I’ll give them some credit because there is a hint of purple when it’s under direct light. It reminds me a bit of the color of rosewood. If fall had a color this would be it.

IMG_2407

Indirect light

IMG_2408

Direct light

The color is so so wearable. It’s dark, but it’s toned down enough to be a neutral that basically goes with anything. SO VERSATILE. SO AMAZING.

IMG_2415

On the mug

IMG_2418

Also on the mug. 

This stuff is more creamy-matte than dry-matte (if you want dry matte, defer to Mac’s Retro Matte finish lipsticks), but for a creamy lipstick it wears like IRON. Although it transfers, there’s so much pigment in it that it lasted me for about 5 or 6 hours plus a meal. Because it’s creamy, it also doesn’t dry the lips at all and is generally very comfortable to wear. I have so many good things to say about this formula, holy god. Mac was not playing around here.

The best thing about this lipstick besides its stellar performance is that every cent of the selling price goes to HIV/AIDS research. Not profits, LITERALLY THE ENTIRE $17. Given the amount of sales Mac gets, that’s a buttload of money to their AIDS fund. So, not only are you getting a really nice lipstick, you’re essentially making a $17 donation to the Mac AIDS fund. That’s pretty awesome.

You can buy the Mac Viva Glam collection lipsticks here. 

3 thoughts on “Mac Viva Glam III

  1. behappyxxx says:

    Love this! And haha, something about the MAC packaging has always bothered me, but I never thought it looked like a tampon😂 i can see the resemblance though!
    And this color looks great on you! I usually never know whether to go light or dark because I have a habit of eating my lipstick, and I’m lazy. With light colors, i eat it off quickly and then i need to reapply, and with dark colors, sometimes it’s all dark and then there’ll be a random light spot that I ate off lol

    Like

    • kayleconut says:

      If my lips are chapped I tend to chew off lipstick because of the flakes that happen, which should be a pretty good indicator that I should never wear lipstick when my lips aren’t perfectly moisturized but I’ll never learn. Lol. I wasn’t sure why the Mac packaging bothered me for a while either, but it just clicked one day and I can’t unsee now.

      Liked by 1 person

      • behappyxxx says:

        😂😂😂😂 i cant unsee it either. I dont think i can ever go to the mac counter again with a straight facw

        Like

Leave a Reply

